Aborted plans and sudden shattered hopes

Mysterious Gate, Ventnor - Phillip Island

Fugitive fathers
Sickly infants
Decent mothers
Runaways and suicidal lovers
Assorted boxes of ordinary bones
Of aborted plans and sudden shattered hopes
In unlucky rows
In unhappy rows
In unlucky rows
Up to the gates of the garden

Won’t you meet me at the gates
Won’t you meet me at the gates
Won’t you meet me at the gates
To the garden

Beneath the creeping shadow of the tower
The bell from St. Edmunds informs me of the hour
I turn to find you waiting there for me
In sunlight and I see the way that you breathe
All alive and leaning
Alive and leaning
All Alive and leaning
Leaning on the gates to the garden

Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds – Gates To The Garden

Leave a Reply

